BMO Alto CD Rates (2026)
A $0-minimum, no-frills online CD from a major bank
By Wealthy Pot Β· Last updated September 2026
BMO Alto CD rates by term
| Term | APY |
|---|---|
| 6-month | 2.50% |
| 1-year | 2.50% |
| 3-year | 2.80% |
| 5-year | 3.00% |
Who BMO Alto CDs are for
BMO customers who want a no-minimum online CD and donβt need a top rate
Rates, minimum & penalties
BMO Alto requires a $0 minimum deposit to open a CD. The early-withdrawal penalty is not disclosed on the cd page (see account disclosures). BMO Alto does not offer a no-penalty CD, so plan to keep the money locked for the full term. FDIC-insured (BMO Bank N.A.; Alto is a trade name β not separately insured). CD APYs are fixed once you open but change for new CDs frequently, confirm the current rate on the official site.
The bottom line
A $0-minimum, no-frills online CD from a major bank Main drawback: rates currently well below the leaders (2.5β3.0%); penalty terms not disclosed upfront.
See how BMO Alto stacks up in our best CD rates comparison, or compare liquid options in our high-yield savings guide.
We summarize each bank's published CD terms, not user reviews. CD APYs are fixed for the term but reprice for new CDs often; figures are re-checked against each bank's official page. CDs are FDIC-insured to legal limits. Some outbound links may be affiliate links β that never affects which banks we include or how we rate them. Nothing here is financial advice.