LIHEAP 2026-27: Help Paying Heating and Cooling Bills
The Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) helps households pay heating and cooling bills, avoid shutoffs and fix broken heating equipment. It is federal money run by each state. For winter 2026-27, a family of four can qualify with income up to $49,500 in the strictest states and up to $121,200 in the most generous, depending on the limit your state chooses.
Need help now? Call the National Energy Assistance Referral line, 1-866-674-6327 (weekdays, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Eastern), or find your state below. If your utility has sent a shutoff notice, say so: most states have a faster crisis program. Applying is free; LIHEAP never charges a fee.
Who qualifies
- Income: your state sets the limit, between 110% of the federal poverty guidelines and the federal maximum: the greater of 150% of poverty or 60% of your state's median income (42 U.S.C. 8624(b)(2)).
- Automatic eligibility: states may treat households as eligible when a member receives SNAP, SSI, TANF or certain needs-based veterans' benefits.
- Priority: the law tells states to give the most help to households with the lowest incomes and the highest energy costs compared with income, and to reach out especially to households with older or disabled members.
Federal income limits for 2026-27
| Household size | 110% of poverty (lowest a state may set) | 150% of poverty |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $17,556 | $23,940 |
| 2 | $23,804 | $32,460 |
| 3 | $30,052 | $40,980 |
| 4 | $36,300 | $49,500 |
| 5 | $42,548 | $58,020 |
| 6 | $48,796 | $66,540 |
LIHEAP by state
Each state picks its own income limit within the federal range. The table shows the rule your state uses for winter 2026-27, the resulting limit for a family of four, and the federal maximum. Details, dates and benefits for each state follow below.
| State | Income rule 2026-27 | Limit, family of 4 | Federal max, family of 4 | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 150% of poverty Draft 2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26 | $49,500* | $61,426 | State site |
| Alaska | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $83,547 | State site |
| Arizona | 60% of state median income $5,647 a month; year-round program | $67,764 | $67,767 | State site |
| Arkansas | 60% of state median income (150% of poverty for 8+) 2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26 | $56,776* | $56,776 | State site |
| California | 60% of state median income Draft 2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26 | $79,812* | $79,812 | State site |
| Colorado | 60% of state median income $7,258 a month | $87,096 | $87,106 | State site |
| Connecticut | 60% of state median income | $93,681 | $93,681 | State site |
| Delaware | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $77,654 | State site |
| District of Columbia | 60% of state median income | $121,200 | $121,200 | State site |
| Florida | 60% of state median income Draft 2027 plan; the state table online is still 2025-26 ($61,837) | $64,873* | $64,873 | State site |
| Georgia | 60% of state median income Draft 2027 plan; 2027 dollar limits not posted yet | $69,070* | $69,070 | State site |
| Hawaii | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $83,077 | State site |
| Idaho | Not available from the state site The state table online is still 2025-26 ($5,262 a month for 4) | Ask the state | $65,443 | State site |
| Illinois | 300% of poverty or 60% of state median income (by utility) Up to 300% of poverty for customers of Ameren, ComEd, Nicor, North Shore and Peoples Gas; 60% of state median income otherwise | $99,000 | $79,405 | State site |
| Indiana | 60% of state median income The state table online ($64,533) has not been updated for 2027 | $66,607* | $66,607 | State site |
| Iowa | 200% of poverty | $66,000 | $73,361 | State site |
| Kansas | 150% of poverty 2027 table not posted yet | $49,500* | $70,641 | State site |
| Kentucky | 150% of poverty Preliminary 2027 plan | $49,500* | $62,479 | State site |
| Louisiana | 60% of state median income The state table online is still 2026 ($58,882) | $60,381* | $60,381 | State site |
| Maine | 60% of state median income | $73,213 | $73,213 | State site |
| Maryland | 200% of poverty Year-round, July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027 | $66,000 | $94,912 | State site |
| Massachusetts | 60% of state median income | $103,049 | $103,049 | State site |
| Michigan | Not available from the state site 2026-27 limits not available from the state site | Ask the state | $71,871 | State site |
| Minnesota | 50% of state median income | $73,969 | $88,763 | State site |
| Mississippi | 60% of state median income No 2026-27 dollar figure posted | $54,015* | $54,015 | State site |
| Missouri | 60% of state median income $5,657 a month | $67,884 | $67,882 | State site |
| Montana | 60% of state median income | $69,463 | $69,463 | State site |
| Nebraska | 150% of poverty | $49,500 | $73,106 | State site |
| Nevada | 150% of poverty $4,125 a month; year-round | $49,500 | $63,016 | State site |
| New Hampshire | 60% of state median income | $93,680 | $93,680 | State site |
| New Jersey | 60% of state median income $8,217 a month | $98,602 | $98,602 | State site |
| New Mexico | Not available from the state site Only the 2025-26 limit was posted | Ask the state | $55,489 | State site |
| New York | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $82,230 | State site |
| North Carolina | 130% of poverty The state chart online is still 2025-26 ($3,483 a month) | $42,900* | $67,803 | State site |
| North Dakota | 60% of state median income $6,628 a month; year-round applications | $79,536 | $79,532 | State site |
| Ohio | 175% of poverty | $57,750 | $70,686 | Call 1-866-674-6327 |
| Oklahoma | 130% of poverty $3,575 a month | $42,900 | $57,916 | State site |
| Oregon | 60% of state median income | $77,550* | $77,550 | State site |
| Pennsylvania | 150% of poverty | $49,500 | $77,809 | State site |
| Rhode Island | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $83,481 | State site |
| South Carolina | 60% of state median income The state table online is still 2025-26 ($61,525) | $63,882* | $63,882 | State site |
| South Dakota | 60% of state median income Draft 2027 plan; 60% of state median income for 4 or more, less for smaller households | $70,801* | $70,801 | State site |
| Tennessee | 60% of state median income | $63,196 | $63,196 | State site |
| Texas | Not available from the state site | Ask the state | $67,343 | State site |
| Utah | 150% of poverty The state chart online is from 2025 | $49,500* | $73,444 | State site |
| Vermont | 185% of poverty $5,088 a month for seasonal fuel; crisis fuel up to 200% of poverty | $61,056 | $81,195 | State site |
| Virginia | 150% of poverty The state info sheet online uses 2025 poverty figures | $49,500* | $86,109 | State site |
| Washington | 150% of poverty | $49,500 | $88,089 | State site |
| West Virginia | 60% of state median income (150% of poverty for 8+) $4,904 a month | $58,848 | $58,852 | State site |
| Wisconsin | 60% of state median income | $76,661 | $76,661 | State site |
| Wyoming | 60% of state median income | $68,959 | $68,959 | State site |
Yearly gross income. Limits without a * are the state's own 2026-27 figure; * = our arithmetic from the state's rule using the 2026 HHS poverty guidelines or the FY2027 state median income published by HHS (LIHEAP IM 2026-01), because the state had not posted its 2026-27 dollar table. Federal maximum: the greater of 150% of poverty and 60% of state median income. Rules from each state's program pages and plans, read October 2026.
State programs: season, benefits, how to apply
Alabama: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $31,941, 2 persons $41,769, 3 persons $51,597, 4 persons $61,426.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty (Draft 2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26).
- Benefits: Heating $280-$580; cooling $320-$520 (2027 draft State Plan estimates); +$50 possible for high-energy-need households (children under 18, elderly, disabled).
- Crisis help: yes - winter and summer crisis assistance, same 150% FPG threshold; crisis benefit may not exceed 200% of the matrix benefit; resolved within 48 hours (18 hours if life-threatening).
- How to apply: Local agency: the head of household or spouse contacts the county's community action agency (map and contact list on the ADECA page). No statewide online application published.
- Phone: ADECA Energy Division 1-800-392-8098 (state office; apply through local agency)
- Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA), Energy Division; delivered by local community action agencies
Alaska: Heating Assistance Program (HAP) (LIHEAP-funded; state Alaska Affordable Heating Program also referenced by third parties)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $43,444, 2 persons $56,811, 3 persons $70,179, 4 persons $83,547.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- Alaska Department of Health, Division of Public Assistance
Arizona: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,238, 2 persons $46,081, 3 persons $56,924, 4 persons $67,767.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income ($5,647 a month; year-round program).
- 2026-27 season: No winter season: year-round, first-come first-served; one regular and one crisis benefit per 12-month period. Note the state-funded Power AZ add-on closed to applications after Sept 21, 2026.
- Benefits: $160-$640 regular (point-based; page says amounts effective for applications from October 12, 2024 and subject to annual change).
- Crisis help: yes - after regular benefit is exhausted and shut-off/delinquency notice (or <7 days of fuel): once per 12 months, up to $500.
- How to apply: Online via the A-to-Z Arizona Portal, or paper application; help at local Community Action Agency or LIHEAP service line.
- Phone: LIHEAP service line 1-866-494-1981 (8 a.m.-5 p.m. Mon-Fri)
- Arizona Department of Economic Security (DES); local Community Action Agencies assist
Arkansas: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $29,523, 2 persons $38,607, 3 persons $47,691, 4 persons $56,776.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (150% of poverty for 8+) (2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26).
- Benefits: Heating $70-$665; cooling $70-$401 (2027 proposed model plan).
- Crisis help: yes - crisis benefit up to a policy maximum to prevent disconnection/restore service; winter and summer crisis in 2027 plan.
- How to apply: Local agency only: apply through the CBO serving your county (AEO does not process applications). Example paper application posted.
- Phone: AEO 501-682-0744 (apply through local CBO)
- Arkansas Energy Office (AEO), Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment (ADEQ site); applications through community-based organizations (CBOs) in all 75 counties
California: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP): Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) bill payment + Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $41,502, 2 persons $54,272, 3 persons $67,042, 4 persons $79,812.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (Draft 2027 plan; the state chart online is still 2025-26).
- 2026-27 season: Year-round: 2027 draft State Plan lists heating, cooling, weatherization and year-round crisis all 10/01/2026-9/30/2027. No separate winter opening date; local providers prioritize the most vulnerable while funds last.
- Benefits: Heating $94-$1,500; cooling $246-$887 (2027 draft State Plan estimates).
- Crisis help: yes - ECIP, year-round crisis assistance (e.g., 24-48 hour disconnect notice, life-threatening energy crisis); max $1,500 in 2027 draft plan.
- How to apply: Local agency: contact the Energy Bill Assistance and Weatherization provider for your city/county via CSD's 'Find Services In Your Area'. No statewide online application.
- California Department of Community Services and Development (CSD); local energy service providers by county
Colorado: Colorado Low-income Energy Assistance Program (LEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $45,295, 2 persons $59,232, 3 persons $73,169, 4 persons $87,106.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income ($7,258 a month).
- 2026-27 season: November 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027 (no earlier priority window stated). Crisis Intervention Program (furnace repair/replacement) runs year-round.
- Crisis help: yes - year-round Crisis Intervention Program for repair/replacement of the primary heating system; heating emergencies call 1-866-HEAT-HELP.
- How to apply: Online via Colorado PEAK (from Nov 1); paper application by mail/email to county LEAP office or drop-off at county human services office; paper application by phone request 1-866-HEAT-HELP.
- Phone: 1-866-HEAT-HELP (1-866-432-8435)
- Colorado Department of Human Services (CDHS); county human services departments process applications
Connecticut: Connecticut Energy Assistance Program (CEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $48,714, 2 persons $63,703, 3 persons $78,692, 4 persons $93,681.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Online and in-person applications opened Tuesday, September 1, 2026; deadline May 31, 2027 (mail postmarked by that date). Deliverable-fuel households may submit paid invoices for fuel bought Nov 2-Apr 1 after the authorization deadline.
- Benefits: $355-$705 basic benefit for 2026-27 (by household size, income, heating source; vulnerable households get more).
- Crisis help: yes - deliverable-fuel households that exhausted basic benefits: up to three Crisis Assistance benefits of $430 each; utility-heated households are protected from winter shutoff instead.
- How to apply: Online (CEAP client portal), by phone with local CAA, by email or mail (signed paper application to local CAA), or in person at local CAA.
- Phone: Local CAA (list on page); DSS call center 1-855-626-6632 (general)
- Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS); Community Action Agencies (CAAs) take applications
Delaware: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $40,380, 2 persons $52,804, 3 persons $65,229, 4 persons $77,654.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Division of State Service Centers
District of Columbia: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $63,024, 2 persons $82,416, 3 persons $101,808, 4 persons $121,200.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: 2027 (Oct 1, 2026-Sep 30, 2027): applications by fax/online/mail from October 20, 2026; in-person appointment scheduling from November 10, 2026; appointments begin November 17, 2026. Closing date not published.
- Benefits: $250-$1,800 one-time regular benefit.
- Crisis help: yes - emergency/crisis benefit when at immediate risk of losing energy (e.g., arrearage of $250+ after regular benefit, disconnection, deliverable fuel at 5% or less of tank); proof of disconnection from PEPCO/Washington Gas required.
- How to apply: Online, fax or mail from Oct 20, 2026; in person by appointment only (call 311 / 202-737-4404 from Nov 10; appointments start Nov 17, 2026) at DOEE service centers (1207 Taylor St NW; 2100 MLK Jr Ave SE). No walk-ins.
- Phone: 311 or (202) 737-4404
- DC Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE); DOEE is the only entity that accepts LIHEAP applications
Florida: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $33,733, 2 persons $44,113, 3 persons $54,493, 4 persons $64,873.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (Draft 2027 plan; the state table online is still 2025-26 ($61,837)).
- 2026-27 season: Heating assistance 10/01/2026-03/31/2027, cooling 04/01/2027-09/30/2027, year-round crisis 10/01/2026-09/30/2027 (2027 DRAFT State Plan). Local availability depends on county funds; multiple applications a year possible but not monthly.
- Benefits: $200-$700 heating and cooling (2027 draft State Plan); additional benefit if household has elderly, disabled or young child.
- Crisis help: yes - year-round crisis assistance, max $1,000 (2027 draft plan).
- How to apply: Local agency: call the local LIHEAP provider for your county (provider finder on FloridaCommerce page). No statewide online application.
- Phone: Local LIHEAP provider (no statewide number published on page)
- FloridaCommerce (Florida Department of Commerce); local community action agencies
Georgia: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,916, 2 persons $46,967, 3 persons $58,018, 4 persons $69,070.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (Draft 2027 plan; 2027 dollar limits not posted yet).
- 2026-27 season: Heating: DFCS says the program 'typically begins' the first workday of December for residents 65+ or medically homebound, and the first workday of January for all others. 2027 draft plan: heating and winter crisis 12/01/2026-07/31/2027; cooling 04/01/2027-07/31/2027. Exact 2026-27 announcement not yet posted.
- Benefits: Heating $400-$810; cooling $400-$500 (2027 draft plan).
- Crisis help: yes - winter crisis max $810, summer crisis max $500 (2027 draft plan); life-threatening heating/cooling emergencies.
- How to apply: Local agency: apply through the Community Action Agency serving your county (provider map on DFCS page; georgiacaa.org/find-your-local-agency). First-come, first-served.
- Phone: Local Community Action Agency (no statewide LIHEAP line on page)
- Georgia Department of Human Services, Division of Family & Children Services (DFCS); local Community Action Agencies
Hawaii: Hawai'i Home Energy Assistance Program (H-HEAP): Energy Credit (EC) + Energy Crisis Intervention (ECI)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $43,200, 2 persons $56,492, 3 persons $69,784, 4 persons $83,077.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- 2026-27 season: No winter heating season. Program year Oct 1-Sep 30. Energy Credit applications accepted only June 1-30; Energy Crisis Intervention year-round with limited monthly approvals. One H-HEAP payment type per program year.
- Crisis help: yes - Energy Crisis Intervention (ECI) year-round for households with a utility disconnect notice; monthly approvals limited.
- How to apply: Submit application packet and documents to the Community Action Agency serving your island (not to DHS offices).
- Phone: Island CAAs, e.g., HCAP O'ahu district offices; DHS Public Assistance Information Line 855-643-1643 (general)
- Hawaii Department of Human Services, Benefit, Employment & Support Services Division; island Community Action Agencies
Idaho: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) - seasonal and crisis heating assistance
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $34,030, 2 persons $44,501, 3 persons $54,972, 4 persons $65,443.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site (The state table online is still 2025-26 ($5,262 a month for 4)).
- 2026-27 season: Priority: households with children under 6, elderly or disabled members may apply beginning in October; all others beginning in November (exact 2026 dates not published). Program year October-September. Crisis assistance year-round. Closing date not published.
- Crisis help: yes - year-round crisis heating assistance (disconnection/past-due/under 48 hours of bulk fuel); once per 12 months; goal to resolve within 48 hours.
- How to apply: Local agency: contact your local Community Action Agency (Application for Energy Assistance form on DHW page). First-come, first-served.
- Phone: Local Community Action Agency; Idaho 211
- Idaho Department of Health and Welfare; Community Action Agencies in every county
Illinois: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) (Help Illinois Families)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $41,290, 2 persons $53,995, 3 persons $66,700, 4 persons $79,405.
- State income rule: 300% of poverty or 60% of state median income (by utility) (Up to 300% of poverty for customers of Ameren, ComEd, Nicor, North Shore and Peoples Gas; 60% of state median income otherwise).
- 2026-27 season: October 1, 2026 - August 13, 2027 or until funds run out. From Oct 1, 2026: adults 60+, people with a disability, households with a child 5 or under, and disconnected/disconnect within 7 days/propane under 25%. From Nov 1, 2026: all other eligible households.
- Benefits: $58-$2,564 heating (2027 State Plan estimate).
- Crisis help: yes - Reconnection Assistance and Furnace Assistance; winter crisis max $2,000 (2027 plan); within 48 hours (18 hours below 32F).
- How to apply: Online Request for Services form at helpillinoisfamilies.com during your application month, then local agency contacts you; or apply directly at county local agency. Call center 1-833-711-0374.
- Phone: Help Illinois Families call center 1-833-711-0374
- Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO); Local Administering Agencies by county
Indiana: Energy Assistance Program (EAP) (Indiana's LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $34,635, 2 persons $45,292, 3 persons $55,949, 4 persons $66,607.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (The state table online ($64,533) has not been updated for 2027).
- 2026-27 season: Opens October 1, 2026 at 8:00 AM; closes April 30, 2027 at 5:00 PM (no priority window stated). Utility shutoff moratorium Dec 1-Mar 15 for applicants.
- Benefits: Heating $100-$625 (2027 draft Detailed Model Plan).
- Crisis help: yes - winter crisis max $800 (2027 draft plan); notify LSP for disconnection notice or within 10 days of running out of bulk fuel.
- How to apply: Online via the new LITT portal (replaces EAPConnect), by mail, or in person/phone appointment through your Local Service Provider.
- Phone: Local Service Provider; eap@ihcda.in.gov; 2-1-1 for referrals
- Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority (IHCDA); Local Service Providers (LSPs)
Iowa: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $38,147, 2 persons $49,885, 3 persons $61,623, 4 persons $73,361.
- State income rule: 200% of poverty.
- 2026-27 season: Elderly (60+) and/or disabled: October 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027. All other households: November 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027. First-come, first-served.
- Benefits: $80-$800 heating (2027 Iowa State Plan estimate).
- Crisis help: yes - Emergency Crisis Intervention Payment (ECIP) for LIHEAP households, combined with other agency funds to resolve energy crises (max not stated in plan).
- How to apply: Local agency: apply at the Community Action Agency (outreach office) in your county; Dial 2-1-1 to locate.
- Phone: Iowa HHS (800) 972-2017 (general); 2-1-1
- Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (HHS); local Community Action Agencies
Kansas: Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $36,733, 2 persons $48,035, 3 persons $59,338, 4 persons $70,641.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty (2027 table not posted yet).
- How to apply: During the application period: online through the DCF Self-Service Portal, or paper application from a local DCF Service Center; DCF hosts in-person application events.
- Phone: local DCF Service Center (no LIEAP number on page)
- Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF)
Kentucky: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP): Subsidy and Crisis components
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $32,489, 2 persons $42,485, 3 persons $52,482, 4 persons $62,479.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty (Preliminary 2027 plan).
- 2026-27 season: Preliminary 2027 plan: heating (Subsidy) 11/03/2026-12/14/2026; winter crisis 01/06/2027-03/26/2027; cooling 4/13/2027-5/26/2027 and summer crisis 6/15/2027-7/30/2027 if funding is available. Adults 60+ on fixed income may pre-register for heating assistance (pre-registration dates not published).
- Benefits: Heating $21-$250; cooling $41-$250 (preliminary 2027 plan).
- Crisis help: yes - winter crisis (Jan 6-Mar 26, 2027) and summer crisis; amount needed to resolve crisis up to $400.
- Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Community Based Services; administered by Community Action Kentucky and local community action agencies
Louisiana: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $31,398, 2 persons $41,059, 3 persons $50,720, 4 persons $60,381.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (The state table online is still 2026 ($58,882)).
- 2026-27 season: Page lists the standing schedule 'Heating: December 15 - March 31', 'Cooling: April 13 - September 30', 'Crisis: October 1 - September 30' (not dated for 2026-27). As of 2026-10-22 online applications are CLOSED; 2026-27 heating opening not announced.
- Crisis help: yes - crisis assistance October 1-September 30 via local agencies (disconnect or pending disconnection notice required).
- How to apply: Statewide LIHEAP online portal when a season is open (currently closed), or local agency in your parish; crisis applications only through local agencies (not online).
- Phone: Local agency by parish (list on LHC page)
- Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC); local agencies by parish
Maine: Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP); crisis: Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $38,070, 2 persons $49,784, 3 persons $61,498, 4 persons $73,213.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: HEAP applications started August 3, 2026 and continue until funds are exhausted or May 29, 2027. ECIP (crisis) runs November 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027. No separate early window for seniors/disabled published.
- Crisis help: yes - ECIP for households with an extremely low supply of heating fuel; file a HEAP application first, then contact the local CAA. Runs Nov 1, 2026 - Apr 30, 2027.
- How to apply: Online (ecos.mainehousing.org), or by phone / in-person appointment with the local Community Action Agency (zip-code lookup on the MaineHousing HEAP page).
- Phone: MaineHousing 1-800-452-4668 or (207) 626-4600; Maine Relay 711
- MaineHousing (Maine State Housing Authority); applications handled by local Community Action Agencies (CAAs) and ProsperityME
Maryland: Maryland Energy Assistance Program (MEAP, LIHEAP-funded heating grant) plus Electric Universal Service Program (EUSP) and Arrearage Retirement Assistance, run by the Office of Home Energy Programs (OHEP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $49,354, 2 persons $64,540, 3 persons $79,726, 4 persons $94,912.
- State income rule: 200% of poverty (Year-round, July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027).
- 2026-27 season: Year-round: program year July 1, 2026 - June 30, 2027; apply any time, one benefit per program year. No priority opening dates for seniors/disabled published.
- Benefits: 2027 MEAP matrix (one-time heating grant by fuel and income level): $100 (electric heat) up to $1,325 (propane, 0-25% FPL) statewide; Garrett County matrix up to $1,458; $25 for the over-200% level / subsidized lines vary. EUSP separate; arrearage up to $2,000 once every 5 years.
- Crisis help: no separate LIHEAP crisis component named on OHEP pages; OHEP can request a 55-day utility termination hold once an application is received; Arrearage Retirement Assistance up to $2,000 (past-due bill $300+); Utility Service Protection Program protects MEAP-eligible households from heating-season turn-offs.
- How to apply: Online at MarylandBenefits.gov (upload documents with the application); paper application by drop box, mail or in person at the local OHEP office; local offices also take applications by phone. SNAP/TCA households are categorically eligible without a separate application.
- Phone: 1-800-332-6347 (DHS; request a paper application); TTY 1-800-735-2258
- Maryland Department of Human Services, Office of Home Energy Programs (OHEP); local OHEP offices
Massachusetts: Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP, Massachusetts LIHEAP; also called fuel assistance)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $53,585, 2 persons $70,073, 3 persons $86,561, 4 persons $103,049.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Online application opens October 1 for the heating season; benefits cover usage November 1 - April 30. The page's season sentence was not updated (still says Nov 1, 2025 - Apr 30, 2026), so Nov 1, 2026 - Apr 30, 2027 is implied, not stated. No priority window for seniors/disabled published.
- Crisis help: not described as a separate component on the HEAP page; HEARTWAP (emergency heating system repair/replacement) uses the same application.
- How to apply: Online via the HEAP portal (toapply.org/MassLIHEAP), in person at the local HEAP agency, or by mail; first-time applicants have an intake appointment; returning households get a mailed renewal.
- Phone: Cold Relief Heatline (800) 632-8175; Mass 211
- Executive Office of Housing and Livable Communities (EOHLC); local HEAP agencies
Michigan: LIHEAP is delivered through State Emergency Relief (SER) energy/heat & utility assistance (MDHHS), the Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP, MPSC-administered grants) and the Home Heating Credit (Treasury)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $37,372, 2 persons $48,872, 3 persons $60,371, 4 persons $71,871.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site (2026-27 limits not available from the state site).
- Crisis help: yes - SER is itself a crisis (shut-off) program: restores or continues heat/electric service, or a 30-day supply of deliverable fuel.
- How to apply: SER energy assistance: online via MI Bridges.Home Heating Credit: Treasury form (not researched here).
- Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (SER); Michigan Public Service Commission (MEAP); Michigan Department of Treasury (Home Heating Credit)
Minnesota: Energy Assistance Program (EAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $46,156, 2 persons $60,358, 3 persons $74,560, 4 persons $88,763.
- State income rule: 50% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Heating assistance October 1, 2026 - May 31, 2027 (deadline to apply May 31, 2027); winter crisis assistance 10/01/2026 - 07/01/2027 per approved 2027 plan. No separate priority opening published.
- Benefits: $200 - $1,400 (2027 plan); initial benefits average $500.
- Crisis help: yes - winter crisis assistance, maximum $600 (2027 plan).
- How to apply: Online application, by mail (request an application), or through the local Energy Assistance service provider.
- Phone: Commerce 651-539-1500; Greater Minnesota 800-657-3602; Energy Information 800-657-3710
- Minnesota Department of Commerce; local EAP service providers
Mississippi: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) and Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $28,087, 2 persons $36,730, 3 persons $45,372, 4 persons $54,015.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (No 2026-27 dollar figure posted).
- Benefits: 2026 draft plan: $1 - $1,500 (2027 not published)
- Crisis help: yes - ECIP (year-round crisis max $1,500 in 2026 draft plan).
- How to apply: Submit a pre-application on the Access MS Common Web Portal (mark 'Community Services'); the local CAA schedules an in-person appointment to complete the full application.
- Phone: MDHS Community Services 1-800-421-0762
- Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS), Division of Community Services; local Community Action Agencies (CAAs)
Missouri: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP): Energy Assistance (EA) and Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,298, 2 persons $46,159, 3 persons $57,020, 4 persons $67,882.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income ($5,657 a month).
- 2026-27 season: Heating (EA) 10/01/2026 - 05/31/2027. Elderly and disabled may apply from October 1 (payments from Nov 1); everyone else from November 1 (payments from Dec 1). Winter ECIP November - May.
- Benefits: $153 - $495 (2027 state plan estimate)
- Crisis help: yes - Winter ECIP Nov-May, max $800; Summer ECIP June-Sept, max $300; up to $400 more for furnace/central air repair after ECIP max.
- How to apply: Online form (submit + upload documents), or print and submit by mail, fax or in person to the local contracted agency; call 855-373-4636 to have an application mailed.
- Phone: 855-FSD-INFO (855-373-4636)
- Missouri Department of Social Services, Family Support Division; local contracted agencies
Montana: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $36,120, 2 persons $47,234, 3 persons $58,348, 4 persons $69,463.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Heating season October 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027 (page: 'October 1 through April 30 of each year'). No priority window published.
- Benefits: Base benefit matrix $150 (non-traditional dwelling) to $3,362 (single-family, 4 bedrooms, fuel oil) before an income/heating-degree-day multiplier of 0.21-1.12; final min/max not published.
- Crisis help: yes (limited) - LIHEAP 'may be able to assist with furnace emergencies'; no separate crisis component detailed.
- How to apply: Combined LIHEAP/Weatherization application (fillable online, but must be printed and mailed or delivered to the local eligibility office); SNAP/SSI/TANF households may qualify automatically.
- Phone: DPHHS HCSD (406) 444-1788; local eligibility office numbers on dphhs.mt.gov/hcsd/energyassistance/liheapoffices
- Montana DPHHS, Human and Community Services Division; local eligibility offices (HRDCs) and Tribal LIHEAP offices
Nebraska: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $38,015, 2 persons $49,712, 3 persons $61,409, 4 persons $73,106.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty.
- 2026-27 season: Heating season October 1 - March 31; one heating payment per season. DHHS will issue automatic heating payments when federal funds are received. Crisis assistance year-round.
- Crisis help: yes - year-round crisis payments (including deposits and reconnect fees) for LIHEAP-eligible households with an unanticipated inability to pay; furnace/central AC repair or replacement up to $750.
- How to apply: Online via iServe Nebraska; in person at a DHHS office; or by phone through ACCESSNebraska. Households with an active Economic Assistance case can request LIHEAP without a new application.
- Phone: ACCESSNebraska (800) 383-4278; Lincoln (402) 323-3900; Omaha (402) 595-1258
- Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Economic Assistance
Nevada: Energy Assistance Program (EAP), funded by LIHEAP and Nevada's Universal Energy Charge
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $32,768, 2 persons $42,850, 3 persons $52,933, 4 persons $63,016.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty ($4,125 a month; year-round).
- 2026-27 season: Program year July 1, 2026 - June 30, 2027; applications accepted year-round until funds are exhausted; one benefit per year. Prior-year recipients can reapply about 11 months after their last benefit.
- Crisis help: yes - Fast-Track (expedited processing when service is in danger of interruption and income dropped 15%+), Crisis Intervention component (medical expenses), Arrearage component once every 5 years.
- How to apply: Online application (Access Nevada) or paper application (download, EAP/DSS offices, intake sites) returned by mail, fax, DSS drop boxes/lobbies or email energyassistance@dss.nv.gov.
- Phone: Carson City EAP administrative office (775) 684-0800
- Nevada Division of Social Services (DSS, formerly DWSS), Energy Assistance Program
New Hampshire: Fuel Assistance Program (FAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $48,713, 2 persons $63,702, 3 persons $78,691, 4 persons $93,680.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- Crisis help: yes - FAP can help in a heating emergency (emergency fuel delivery, delaying a shut-off, or referral).
- How to apply: Contact the local Community Action Agency to set up an appointment.
- Phone: NH Department of Energy (603) 271-3670
- New Hampshire Department of Energy; local Community Action Agencies (CAAs)
New Jersey: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP / Home Energy Assistance), combined application with Universal Service Fund (USF)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $51,273, 2 persons $67,049, 3 persons $82,825, 4 persons $98,602.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income ($8,217 a month).
- 2026-27 season: October 1, 2026 - June 30, 2027 (first come, first served). Emergency assistance December - June 30.
- Benefits: 2027 heating benefit grid $118 - $1,278 (by fuel, income, household size, region); medically necessary cooling $300; maximum total program benefit $4,878.
- Crisis help: yes - emergency energy assistance (no heat or danger of losing it), up to $800 for initial fuel purchase plus up to $100 reconnection; Dec - June 30; emergency furnace repair/replacement.
- How to apply: Online (DCAid / energyassistance.nj.gov) or through the local application agency; people 60+ or disabled can apply by mail or request a home visit.
- Phone: 1-800-510-3102
- New Jersey Department of Community Affairs (DCA), Division of Housing and Community Resources; local community action / application agencies
New Mexico: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $28,854, 2 persons $37,732, 3 persons $46,610, 4 persons $55,489.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site (Only the 2025-26 limit was posted).
- New Mexico Health Care Authority (HCA), Income Support Division
New York: Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP): Regular, Emergency, Clean and Tune, HERR, Cooling components
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $42,759, 2 persons $55,916, 3 persons $69,073, 4 persons $82,230.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- 2026-27 season: Regular HEAP scheduled to open November 2, 2026; HERR opened October 1, 2026
- NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA); local departments of social services (NYC: HRA)
North Carolina: Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP); Crisis Intervention Program (CIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,257, 2 persons $46,106, 3 persons $56,954, 4 persons $67,803.
- State income rule: 130% of poverty (The state chart online is still 2025-26 ($3,483 a month)).
- 2026-27 season: Page (no year given): households with someone 60+ or disabled persons receiving services through the Division of Aging and Adult Services sign up Dec 1-31; all others Jan 1 - Mar 31 or until funds run out. 2026-27 dates not separately announced (last season the priority window actually opened Dec 10, 2025 per an NCDHHS release) - confirm.
- Benefits: LIEAP one-time payment $300 - $500 (2026 chart)
- Crisis help: yes - CIP, July 1 - June 30 or until funds run out, 150% FPL, for a heating/cooling-related crisis (health-related or life-threatening).
- How to apply: Online via ePASS or through the county Department of Social Services.
- Phone: NCDHHS Customer Service Center 1-800-662-7030
- NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services; county Departments of Social Services
North Dakota: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $41,356, 2 persons $54,081, 3 persons $66,806, 4 persons $79,532.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income ($6,628 a month; year-round applications).
- 2026-27 season: Applications accepted year-round; eligibility now year-round (benefits no longer tied to the Oct 1 - May 31 heating season); 2026-2027 limits effective Oct 1, 2026 - Sept 30, 2027.
- Crisis help: yes - emergency assistance (shut-off/disconnection notice, out of deliverable fuel, minor repairs) via the Customer Support Center; furnace help via Community Action.
- How to apply: Online in the Self-Service Portal; print application and return to the Customer Support Center or local Human Service Zone office; or by mail. Community Options (1-800-823-2417) helps with applications.
- Phone: Customer Support Center 1-866-614-6005 or 701-328-1000 (711 TTY); Community Options 1-800-823-2417
- North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services (HHS); human service zone offices
Ohio: Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP, 'Regular HEAP') and HEAP Winter Crisis Program (WCP / E-HEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $36,756, 2 persons $48,066, 3 persons $59,376, 4 persons $70,686.
- State income rule: 175% of poverty.
- 2026-27 season: Regular HEAP applications July 1, 2026 - May 31, 2027 (benefits applied from January). Winter Crisis Program November 2, 2026 - March 31, 2027.
- Benefits: Regular HEAP: not published. WCP maximums: $175 PUCO-regulated utility; $750 municipal/co-op; $1,200 bulk fuel (kerosene/propane/oil); $650 wood/coal; up to $1,500 heating unit repair/replacement.
- Crisis help: yes - Winter Crisis Program Nov 2, 2026 - Mar 31, 2027 (disconnected, shut-off notice, new service, PIPP default, or 25% or less bulk fuel).
- State details were not available to us; call 1-866-674-6327 for your local office.
Oklahoma: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP): Winter Heating, Summer Cooling, Energy Crisis Assistance Program (ECAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $30,116, 2 persons $39,382, 3 persons $48,649, 4 persons $57,916.
- State income rule: 130% of poverty ($3,575 a month).
- 2026-27 season: Winter Heating anticipated to open Tuesday, December 15, 2026 (may be delayed); stays open until funds are spent. ECAP April 13, 2027; Summer Cooling July 13, 2027. Life-threatening crisis help year-round.
- Crisis help: yes - ECAP (opens April 13, 2027) and year-round life-threatening crisis assistance (lifesaving medical equipment or extreme temperatures) by calling 405-522-5050.
- How to apply: Online at OKDHSLive.org during open enrollment (red 'Apply for Energy Assistance' banner); some households are pre-authorized and need not apply. Tribal members may apply via OKDHS or their tribe.
- Phone: (405) 522-5050 (select energy assistance options); LIHEAP2@okdhs.org
- Oklahoma Human Services (OKDHS)
Oregon: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), plus state Oregon Energy Assistance Program (OEAP) for Pacific Power/PGE customers
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $40,326, 2 persons $52,734, 3 persons $65,142, 4 persons $77,550.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Program year Oct 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2027 for heating, cooling and year-round crisis (2027 DRAFT state plan). Local agencies set their own intake dates; no statewide opening/closing date published.
- Benefits: $250-$750 heating (2027 DRAFT state plan estimate)
- Crisis help: yes - year-round crisis, max $1,000 (2027 DRAFT plan)
- How to apply: Local agency: apply through the community action agency serving your county (OHCS does not take applications). Homebound applicants can ask for phone, mail or home-visit applications.
- Phone: 1-800-453-5511 option 1 (OHCS energy assistance); email energyassistance@oregon.gov
- Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS); delivered by local community action agencies (CAAs)
Pennsylvania: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) - Cash and Crisis grants
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $40,460, 2 persons $52,910, 3 persons $65,359, 4 persons $77,809.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty.
- 2026-27 season: Cash and Crisis: November 2, 2026 - April 23, 2027 (2027 Final State Plan; DHS may extend or shorten). Pre-season applications mailed to 2025-26 recipients before opening.
- Benefits: Cash $200-$1,000; Crisis $25-$1,000
- Crisis help: yes - Crisis grants Nov 2, 2026 - Apr 23, 2027, $25-$1,000; benefits within 10 business days (sooner if life-threatening); contact County Assistance Office
- How to apply: Online via COMPASS (compass.dhs.pa.gov), paper application, or County Assistance Office; LIHEAP hotline 1-866-857-7095. Prior-season recipients get pre-season mail/postcard.
- Phone: 1-866-857-7095 (LIHEAP hotline, Mon-Fri; TTY 711)
- Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS)
Rhode Island: Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $43,410, 2 persons $56,767, 3 persons $70,124, 4 persons $83,481.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS); applications through local Community Action Program (CAP) agencies
South Carolina: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $33,218, 2 persons $43,439, 3 persons $53,660, 4 persons $63,882.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (The state table online is still 2025-26 ($61,525)).
- 2026-27 season: Heating assistance Oct 1, 2026 - Apr 30, 2027; cooling May 1 - Sep 30, 2027; crisis year-round Oct 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2027 (Revised DRAFT 2027 plan, Aug 2026). Local agencies may set own intake.
- Benefits: Heating $300-$1,000; cooling $300-$850 (DRAFT 2027 plan)
- Crisis help: yes - year-round crisis, max $800 (DRAFT 2027 plan)
- How to apply: Local agency: contact the Community Action Agency serving your county (OEO does not take applications).
- South Carolina Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO), Department of Administration; delivered by county Community Action Agencies
South Dakota: Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP) + Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $36,816, 2 persons $48,144, 3 persons $59,472, 4 persons $70,801.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (Draft 2027 plan; 60% of state median income for 4 or more, less for smaller households).
- 2026-27 season: Heating assistance 10/01/2026 - 09/30/2027 per DRAFT 2027 state plan (hearing copy). DSS web page still shows 2025-2026 heating season. ECIP (crisis) runs April 1 - March 31 per DSS page.
- Benefits: $668-$3,437 (DRAFT 2027 plan estimate)
- Crisis help: yes - ECIP for disconnect notice, <20% fuel in tank, or heat-related eviction notice; DRAFT plan year-round crisis max $2,400
- How to apply: Paper application (download, mail/scan/email to DSS Office of Energy Assistance, 700 Governors Drive, Pierre SD 57501); phone 800-233-8503.
- Phone: 800-233-8503 (option 1 for status); DSSHeat@state.sd.us
- South Dakota Department of Social Services (DSS), Office of Energy Assistance
Tennessee: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $32,861, 2 persons $42,973, 3 persons $53,084, 4 persons $63,196.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Program year Oct 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2027 (DRAFT 2027 Policy Manual). 2026-27 online opening date NOT published: THDA page still says 2025-26 applications opened Nov 1, 2025 at 8:00am CST. Optional pre-application early enrollment for elderly (60+ on Social Security) and disabled may start up to 60 days before the general period.
- Benefits: $300-$800 (2027 matrix; depends on income group, household size, energy burden). THDA page for 2025-26 said $174-$750.
- Crisis help: yes - Crisis Energy Assistance via local agencies; agencies must reserve at least 10% of direct assistance for crisis (draft 2027 manual)
- How to apply: Online through THDA's SmartSimple portal; local LIHEAP agency helps with the application.
- Phone: 800-228-THDA (general); local LIHEAP agency list on THDA site
- Tennessee Housing Development Agency (THDA); 19 local agencies cover 95 counties
Texas: Comprehensive Energy Assistance Program (CEAP) - Texas LIHEAP
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,018, 2 persons $45,793, 3 persons $56,568, 4 persons $67,343.
- State income rule: Not available from the state site.
- How to apply: Local agency (subrecipient) by county; find via TDHCA Help for Texans page.
- Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA); delivered by local subrecipient agencies
Utah: Home Energy Assistance Target (HEAT) Program
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $38,190, 2 persons $49,941, 3 persons $61,692, 4 persons $73,444.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty (The state chart online is from 2025).
- 2026-27 season: Program year Oct 1 - Sep 30 or until federal funds run out. Households with disabled, elderly (60+) or children under 6: from October 1. General public: November 1 - September 30 (or until funds exhausted).
- Crisis help: yes - households in danger of shut-off contact local HEAT office for crisis assistance
- How to apply: Local HEAT office (appointment) or print the HEAT application and send it to the local office.
- Phone: 866-205-4357 (HEAT complaints/assistance line); local office numbers on the Local HEAT Offices page
- Utah Department of Workforce Services, Housing and Community Development (State Community Services Office); local HEAT offices
Vermont: Seasonal Fuel Assistance (LIHEAP) + Crisis Fuel Assistance
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $42,221, 2 persons $55,212, 3 persons $68,203, 4 persons $81,195.
- State income rule: 185% of poverty ($5,088 a month for seasonal fuel; crisis fuel up to 200% of poverty).
- 2026-27 season: Seasonal Fuel application window not published on DCF page. Crisis Fuel: bulk fuels from last Monday in November (Nov 30, 2026) to second Friday in April (Apr 9, 2027); metered fuels from last Monday in November to last regular working day in April.
- Crisis help: yes - Crisis Fuel Assistance (200% FPL) via Community Action Agencies; after-hours lines 1-866-331-7741 (out of fuel, weekends/holidays) and 1-877-295-7998 (furnace failure)
- How to apply: Online via myBenefits portal, paper application (call 1-800-479-6151), or in person at a DCF district office; last season's recipients get an annual review form. Crisis Fuel: in person at local Community Action Agency.
- Phone: 1-800-479-6151
- Vermont Department for Children and Families (DCF), Economic Services Division; Crisis Fuel via Community Action Agencies
Virginia: Energy Assistance Program (EAP): Fuel, Crisis, Cooling Assistance (+ Weatherization via DHCD)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $44,776, 2 persons $58,554, 3 persons $72,331, 4 persons $86,109.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty (The state info sheet online uses 2025 poverty figures).
- 2026-27 season: Fuel Assistance: second Tuesday in October through second Friday in November (2026: Oct 13 - Nov 13). Crisis: Nov 1 - Mar 15 for equipment/security deposits; first workday in January - Mar 15 for fuel/utility bills. Cooling: June 15 - Aug 15/17, 2027.
- Crisis help: yes - Crisis Assistance Nov 1 - Mar 15 (heating emergencies: no heat, cut-off notice, unsafe equipment)
- How to apply: Online (CommonHelp), phone (Enterprise Customer Service Center 855-635-4370), paper form, or local department of social services.
- Phone: 855-635-4370 (apply by phone, Mon-Fri 7am-6pm)
- Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS); local departments of social services
Washington: Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $45,806, 2 persons $59,900, 3 persons $73,994, 4 persons $88,089.
- State income rule: 150% of poverty.
- 2026-27 season: Program year October 1 - September 30; one grant per program year. Statewide opening/closing dates not published (each local agency sets scheduling).
- Crisis help: yes (limited) - LIHEAP may repair/replace unsafe or inoperative heating/cooling systems; no separate crisis amount published
- How to apply: Local agency by appointment: find your county's provider on the LIHEAP public map tool and schedule an appointment (Commerce does not schedule).
- Washington State Department of Commerce; community action agencies and local partners
West Virginia: Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP) - Regular and Emergency LIEAP
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $30,603, 2 persons $40,019, 3 persons $49,435, 4 persons $58,852.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income (150% of poverty for 8+) ($4,904 a month).
- 2026-27 season: Regular LIEAP opening and closing will be announced (not yet announced as of Oct 22, 2026). 2027 state plan lists heating component dates of operation 11/02/2026 - 11/30/2027; winter crisis 01/01/2027 - 03/15/2027. Last season (2026): mailing to prior recipients/older adults/disabled from Jan 5, 2026; public Feb 2-20, 2026, closed early Feb 9, 2026 (funds exhausted).
- Crisis help: yes - Emergency LIEAP opens after Regular LIEAP closes, in person at DoHS office (termination notice or out/nearly out of bulk fuel); plan winter crisis 01/01/2027-03/15/2027
- How to apply: Online at WV PATH, or at local DoHS office, Community Action agency or senior center once the program opens; targeted households get an automatic payment or mailed application before opening. Emergency LIEAP in person at DoHS office.
- Phone: 1-800-642-8589 (Office of Constituent Services, Client Services Unit)
- West Virginia Department of Human Services (DoHS), Bureau for Family Assistance
Wisconsin: Wisconsin Home Energy Assistance Program (WHEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $39,863, 2 persons $52,129, 3 persons $64,395, 4 persons $76,661.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: Open for 2026-27 applications since October 1, 2026 (program year Oct 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2027).
- Crisis help: yes - crisis energy assistance year-round; emergency furnace/water heater repair or replacement
- How to apply: Online at energybenefit.wi.gov, or by phone, mail or in person through the local energy assistance agency (1-866-HEATWIS).
- Phone: 1-866-HEATWIS (1-866-432-8947)
- Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA), Division of Energy, Housing and Community Resources; local energy assistance agencies
Wyoming: Wyoming Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP)
- Federal maximum income: 1 person $35,858, 2 persons $46,892, 3 persons $57,925, 4 persons $68,959.
- State income rule: 60% of state median income.
- 2026-27 season: October 1, 2026 - April 30, 2027 (seasonal heating and crisis); benefits usable through May 31, 2027. New application required each season.
- Crisis help: yes - one-time crisis benefit for approved households (Oct 1, 2026 - Apr 30, 2027); must show a verifiable utility payment in the past 60 days; heat-loss emergencies handled within 18 business hours
- How to apply: Online portal (mylieapwyo.org); phone help (800) 246-4221 if you cannot apply online.
- Phone: (800) 246-4221; lieapinfo@wyo.gov
- Wyoming Department of Family Services (DFS)
What LIHEAP pays for
- Heating and cooling bills: usually paid straight to your utility or fuel dealer.
- Energy crises: shutoff notices, running out of fuel, broken furnaces.
- Weatherization and repairs: states can spend up to 15% of their money (25% with a waiver) on weatherization and energy repairs.
To compare your bills, see average electric bill and average utility bills. If heating costs are part of a wider budget squeeze, our budget calculator helps you plan.
Funding for winter 2026-27
Congress gave LIHEAP $4.045 billion for fiscal year 2026. For 2027 it is running on a stopgap law (P.L. 119-103, signed September 2, 2026) that keeps the 2026 level through December 11, 2026. HHS released the first $3.63 billion, 90% of the year's money, on October 9, 2026; states need an approved 2027 plan to use it. West Virginia closed its program early last winter (February 9, 2026) when money ran out, so apply as soon as your state opens.
FAQ
Who qualifies for LIHEAP?
Households with income at or below the limit their state sets. Federal law caps it at the greater of 150% of the poverty guidelines or 60% of state median income (for a family of 4 in 2026-27: $49,500 or more, depending on the state), and states may not set it below 110% of poverty ($36,300 for 4). Households where someone gets SNAP, SSI, TANF or certain veterans' benefits can qualify automatically if the state chooses.
How do I apply for LIHEAP?
Through your state or local agency, not the federal government: find your state below. You can also call the National Energy Assistance Referral line at 1-866-674-6327 (weekdays, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Eastern). Applying is free; no one may charge you a fee.
When does LIHEAP open for winter 2026-27?
It depends on the state. Many open October 1 or in November, and several let seniors and people with disabilities apply first. Programs can close early when money runs out, so apply as soon as your state opens.
How much does LIHEAP pay?
Each state sets its benefit amounts, usually based on income, household size and fuel type. Nationally, the average heating benefit was $662 in fiscal year 2022 ($792 including crisis help), the latest year in HHS's report to Congress.
Is LIHEAP funded for 2026-27?
Yes, for now. Congress's stopgap funding law (P.L. 119-103) keeps programs at the 2026 level through December 11, 2026, and HHS released the first $3.63 billion (90%) of 2027 LIHEAP money on October 9, 2026. The rest depends on Congress passing full-year funding.
Sources
- 42 U.S.C. 8624, LIHEAP eligibility
- HHS, 2026 poverty guidelines
- HHS ACF, LIHEAP IM 2026-01: state median income estimates for FY2027
- HHS ACF, LIHEAP program page and funding releases
- Each state's LIHEAP agency, linked in the state details (read October 2026)
General information, not legal or financial advice. State rules and dates change; confirm with your state agency before you apply.
