Credit Service Review

Aura Review (2026)

Aura suits households that want credit monitoring at all three bureaus, identity alerts, insurance and device security (antivirus, VPN, password manager) on one bill. The one thing to know: the $12 a month headline is the rate when you pay a full year upfront ($144); month to month it is $15. The Family plan covers 5 adults and unlimited kids for $32 a month billed yearly or $50 monthly.

By Wealthy Pot Editorial · Facts checked October 19, 2026

Facts checked October 19, 2026 against Aura's own pricing, help and policy pages (10 sources, listed below). We re-check prices about once a month. We do not earn a commission from Aura.

Aura at a glance

Individual$12 a month billed yearly ($144 a year, our arithmetic), or $15 billed monthly; 1 adult, 10 devices [1]
Couple$22 a month billed yearly ($264), or $29 monthly; 2 adults, 20 devices [1]
Family$32 a month billed yearly ($384), or $50 monthly; 5 adults, unlimited kids and devices; kids get online account and SSN monitoring only [1]
Free tier and trialNo free tier; 14-day free trial on any plan, one per customer [1]
ScoreMonthly VantageScore (version not stated), calculated from your Equifax credit file [1]
Bureaus monitoredEquifax, TransUnion and Experian: near real-time alerts of inquiries [1]
Credit lockExperian credit file lock [1]
$5M policy (Family)$5,000,000 expense reimbursement per membership per 12 months; stolen-funds recovery capped at $1,000,000 within that limit [5]
Identity theft insurance$1M Individual, $2M Couple, $5M Family (plan cards); underwritten by American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, an Assurant company [4]
Identity monitoringDark web and SSN alerts, home and auto title, bank and card transactions, high-risk identity verification such as payday loans [1]
RestorationUS-based White Glove Fraud Resolution team; 24/7 support [1]
ExtrasAntivirus, VPN, password manager, data broker removal (425+ sites, Aura's count); parental controls on Family [1]
Refunds60-day money-back guarantee on annual plans bought at aura.com or by phone; monthly plans do not qualify [3]
CompanyAura Sub, LLC, Boston; founded 2017 as iSubscribed, renamed Aura in 2019; also owns Identity Guard [7]

What Aura costs

PlanPaying monthly, 1 yearAnnual plan, 1 year3 years (cheapest way)Annual plan saves
Individual$180$144$432$36 (20%)
Couple$348$264$792$84 (24%)
Family5 adults, unlimited kids$600$384$1,152$216 (36%)
Kidsparental controls only; no credit monitoring or insurance$156$120$360$36 (23%)

Our arithmetic from the listed prices, before sales tax, assuming today's prices hold; subscriptions can renew at a different rate. Aura prints per-month rates ($12, $22, $32, $10 billed yearly); the yearly totals are those rates times 12. Its pricing page shows no first-year or renewal wording: the terms say a plan renews at the price shown in your account dashboard, with 30 days' notice of any fee change. Aura's "Save 50%" labels use its own comparison base; against the $15 monthly rate, the yearly Individual rate is 20% less.

How Aura works

Aura is an identity protection service first and a credit tool second. Every main plan watches your credit files at Equifax, TransUnion and Experian and alerts you to new inquiries, and adds dark web and SSN alerts, bank and card transaction alerts, home and auto title monitoring and an Experian credit file lock. The credit score is a monthly VantageScore calculated from your Equifax file; Aura does not state the version, and it is not the FICO score most lenders use. The same plans include antivirus, a VPN and a password manager, and Aura says it sends removal requests to more than 425 data brokers and people-search sites. Aura also claims "650x faster" fraud detection than competitors, but its own footnote says the 2025 study behind that was done by ath Power Consulting, which Aura paid.

Insurance is through American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, an Assurant company. Aura's $1 million summary sets that as the expense reimbursement limit per membership per 12 months, and stolen-funds recovery is part of that limit, not on top of it, for one occurrence a year. The plan cards show $2M for Couple and $5M for Family; these are policy limits, not payouts. Some of this you can do free: a credit freeze at each bureau costs nothing and lasts until you lift it, a fraud alert is free for a year (seven years for identity theft victims with a report), and AnnualCreditReport.com gives free weekly reports from all three bureaus. See is identity theft protection worth it for how the paid and free routes compare.

A hypothetical two-adult household at the prices on October 19, 2026: one Couple plan billed yearly costs $22 x 12 = $264, while two Individual plans billed yearly cost $144 x 2 = $288, so the Couple plan saves $24. Billed monthly, the Couple plan costs $29 x 12 = $348, which is $84 more than paying yearly. Only the yearly plan carries the 60-day money-back guarantee, and renewals do not qualify for a full refund.

Pros

  • All main plans monitor Equifax, TransUnion and Experian
  • Family plan covers 5 adults and unlimited kids with up to $5M insurance
  • Antivirus, VPN and password manager included
  • No intro-price jump printed: $12 is the regular yearly-billing rate
  • 60-day money-back guarantee on annual plans bought from Aura

Cons

  • No free tier
  • The $12 rate needs a year paid upfront; monthly is $15
  • Score is a monthly Equifax VantageScore, version not stated
  • Monthly plans and annual renewals get no full refund

Who Aura fits, and who should skip it

A good fit if

  • You want three-bureau credit alerts, identity monitoring and device security in one subscription.
  • You have a household of up to 5 adults plus kids and want one plan with parental controls.
  • You can pay a year upfront, which gets the lower rate and the 60-day refund window.

Look elsewhere if

  • You only want to watch your credit score for free: Credit Karma covers two bureaus at no cost.
  • You want a FICO score rather than a VantageScore: myFICO sells FICO scores from all three bureaus.
  • You already have antivirus and a VPN and want identity protection only: Identity Guard, also owned by Aura, sells plans without device security.

Limitations to know

  • The score updates monthly and comes from Equifax data only. Aura calls it an educational score, not the one lenders use. [1]
  • The Experian lock is a product feature. A credit freeze placed with each bureau is free under federal rules and lasts until you lift it. [9]
  • The 60-day guarantee covers annual plans bought at aura.com or by phone, not through Amazon, app stores or other third parties; monthly plans and annual renewals do not qualify. [3]
  • You cancel by phone or in your account; Aura does not accept cancellations by mail, and service runs to the end of the billing cycle. [2]
  • Aura shows only an Equifax-based score. You can read your full reports from all three bureaus free every week at AnnualCreditReport.com, the only site authorized for free reports. [10]

Aura compared with alternatives

ServiceFree tierPriceScore shownID-theft insurance
AuraNo free tier (14-day trial)$12/mo billed yearly or $15 monthly; Couple $22/$29; Family $32/$50VantageScore (Equifax data, monthly)$1M individual, $2M couple, $5M family (American Bankers Insurance Co. of Florida)
LifeLockNo free tier (30-day trial, card required)Core $12.49/mo or $124.99/yr; Advanced $19.99 or $199.99; Total $34.99 or $349.99One-bureau score (model not stated)$1.05M, $1.2M or $3M per adult by tier (United Specialty Insurance Co.)
Identity GuardNo free tierValue $8.99/mo, Total $19.99, Ultra $29.99 (individual); first-year discountsEquifax-based score, monthly (model not stated)$1M (American Bankers Insurance Co. of Florida)
IdentityIQNo free tierSecure Basic $8.49/mo ($86.61/yr) to Secure Max $31.49/mo ($321.21/yr)Not stated$1M stolen funds reimbursement ("underwritten by AIG")
Credit KarmaFully free: scores, reports, alerts (no paid tier)FreeVantageScore 3.0 (not FICO)None
  • Pick LifeLock if you want insurance limits up to $3M per adult and scam reimbursement on higher tiers.
  • Pick Identity Guard if you want the same insurer and owner with lower first-year prices.
  • Pick IdentityIQ if you want scheduled three-bureau reports for less.
  • Pick Credit Karma if you only need free score tracking from two bureaus.

Security and privacy

  • Aura says none of its companies "sell" your personal data, but some of its website cookies and pixels may count as a "sale" or "share" under state privacy laws; you can opt out on its Your Privacy Choices page. [6]
  • Aura says its app is not ad supported and it does not share personal data from the app with third-party advertising services. [6]
  • On July 1, 2015 the CFPB took action against Intersections Inc., the former owner of Identity Guard later bought by Aura's predecessor, for charging consumers for credit card add-on identity protection they did not receive. Intersections reported a $1.2 million civil penalty plus about $63,000 in refunds. The order ended February 4, 2026, and the conduct predates Aura's ownership. [8]
  • We found no FTC or CFPB enforcement action against Aura itself.

Recent changes

DateWhat changed
Oct 1, 2026New Aura License and Terms of Service and Privacy Policy took effect (last updated September 17, 2026). [2]
Jun 2, 202660-day money-back guarantee policy last updated. [3]
Invalid DateAura split into two companies, Aura and Point Wild (formerly Pango). [7]
Invalid DateRebranded as Aura, bringing the Intrusta and Identity Guard brands together. [7]
Invalid DateiSubscribed (later Aura), WndrCo and General Catalyst acquired Intersections Inc. and Identity Guard, by Aura's own timeline. [7]

Aura FAQ

Is Aura free?

No. Aura has no free tier. Every plan has a 14-day free trial, one per customer; the terms say you may be asked for billing information to start it.

How much does Aura cost?

Individual is $12 a month billed yearly ($144) or $15 monthly. Couple is $22 yearly-billed ($264) or $29 monthly. Family is $32 yearly-billed ($384) or $50 monthly. These were Aura's prices on October 19, 2026; Aura does not label $12 as an intro price.

Is Aura's credit score accurate?

It is a VantageScore calculated monthly from your Equifax credit file, and Aura does not state the version. Lenders often use FICO scores and may pull another bureau, so your lender's number can differ. See <a href="/what-is-a-good-credit-score/">what is a good credit score</a>.

Aura vs LifeLock?

Aura bundles three-bureau monitoring with antivirus, VPN and a password manager on every main plan. <a href="/credit-monitoring/lifelock/">LifeLock</a> Core monitors two bureaus, and its standalone plans do not include Norton device security, but its Total plan carries up to $3M in coverage per adult.

Is Aura worth it?

If you want one bill for credit alerts at all three bureaus, identity monitoring and device security for a household, the Family plan at $384 a year covers up to 5 adults. If you mainly want to stop new accounts in your name, a free freeze at each bureau does that at no cost. Read our guide to <a href="/how-monitor-credit-report-errors-fraud/">monitoring your credit reports for errors and fraud</a>.

How we researched this review

We did not get paid or receive a free account for this page. We read Aura's own pricing page, help center, security and privacy pages and app-store listing on October 19, 2026, quoted each fact from those pages, and link every one below. We did not run a long-term hands-on test, so we do not score the app; where a point rests on what the company says rather than something we can check, we attribute it to Aura. Cost figures are our own arithmetic. We re-check prices and plans about once a month and log changes in the table above.

Sources

  1. Aura, Pricing (plans, features and footnotes), checked October 19, 2026.
  2. Aura, License and Terms of Service (effective October 1, 2026), checked October 19, 2026.
  3. Aura, 60-day money-back guarantee policy, checked October 19, 2026.
  4. Aura, $1 million identity theft insurance summary of benefits, checked October 19, 2026.
  5. Aura, $5 million identity theft insurance summary of benefits, checked October 19, 2026.
  6. Aura, Privacy policy (effective October 1, 2026), checked October 19, 2026.
  7. Aura, About, checked October 19, 2026.
  8. CFPB, Enforcement action: Intersections Inc., checked October 19, 2026.
  9. FTC, Credit freezes and fraud alerts, checked October 19, 2026.
  10. FTC, Free credit reports, checked October 19, 2026.

Head-to-head comparisons

This review is general information, not financial or legal advice. A credit freeze at each bureau and weekly reports from AnnualCreditReport.com are free under federal rules; a paid service adds alerts, insurance and help, not protection you cannot get yourself.