Credit Service Review

LifeLock Review (2026)

LifeLock, from Norton owner Gen Digital, suits people who want identity monitoring and restoration help with higher reimbursement limits on the upper tiers, up to $3M per adult on Total. The one thing to know: the entry Core plan monitors two credit bureaus, not three, and on October 19, 2026 no first-year discount was showing. Core costs $124.99 a year or $12.49 a month for one adult.

By Wealthy Pot Editorial · Facts checked October 19, 2026

Facts checked October 19, 2026 against LifeLock's own pricing, help and policy pages (15 sources, listed below). We re-check prices about once a month. We do not earn a commission from Gen Digital (LifeLock).

LifeLock at a glance

Core (1 adult)$124.99 a year (about $10.42 a month) or $12.49 monthly; first year and renewal the same price [1]
Advanced (1 adult)$199.99 a year (about $16.67 a month) or $19.99 monthly [1]
Total (1 adult)$349.99 a year (about $29.17 a month) or $34.99 monthly [1]
Two adults; two adults + up to 10 kidsCore $224.99 or $344.99 a year; Advanced $359.99 or $479.99; Total $629.99 or $749.99 [1]
Free trial30 days; payment method required, charged at the end unless you cancel [3]
Bureaus monitoredCore: two bureaus (not named on the page); Advanced and Total: all three [1]
Score and reportOne bureau monthly (Core, Advanced) or daily (Total); a three-bureau report and score once a year on Advanced and Total; model not stated [1]
Credit lockCredit & Payday Loan Lock on all tiers; turns off if you downgrade or cancel [1]
Identity theft reimbursementUp to $1.05M (Core), $1.2M (Advanced), $3M (Total) per adult; underwritten by United Specialty Insurance Company outside New York and Washington [5]
Scam reimbursement$5,000 (Advanced) or $10,000 (Total) a year, $100 deductible, not for New York residents; HSB Specialty Insurance Company [6]
RestorationUS-based Restoration Specialists on all tiers [1]
RefundsAnnual plans: 60 days after purchase and after each renewal; monthly: 14 days [4]
CompanyGen Digital Inc. (formerly NortonLifeLock), Tempe, Arizona; brands include Norton, LifeLock and Avast [6]

What LifeLock costs

PlanPaying monthly, 1 yearAnnual plan, 1 year3 years (cheapest way)Annual plan saves
Core1 adult; two-bureau monitoring$149.88$124.99$374.97$24.89 (17%)
Advanced1 adult$239.88$199.99$599.97$39.89 (17%)
Total1 adult$419.88$349.99$1,049.97$69.89 (17%)
Core, 2 adults$269.88$224.99$674.97$44.89 (17%)
Advanced, 2 adults$431.88$359.99$1,079.97$71.89 (17%)
Total, 2 adults$755.88$629.99$1,889.97$125.89 (17%)
Core, 2 adults + kidsup to 10 kids$413.88$344.99$1,034.97$68.89 (17%)
Advanced, 2 adults + kidsup to 10 kids$575.88$479.99$1,439.97$95.89 (17%)
Total, 2 adults + kidsup to 10 kids$899.88$749.99$2,249.97$149.89 (17%)

Our arithmetic from the listed prices, before sales tax, assuming today's prices hold; subscriptions can renew at a different rate. On October 19, 2026 the LifeLock page showed "0% OFF" and "Pay $124.99 today. Renews annually." for Core, and Norton's price service returned the same first-year and renewal price for every Core, Advanced and Total plan. The page footnote still says prices are for an introductory term and renew at the standard price, and that renewals may be charged up to 35 days before the term ends. Norton 360 with LifeLock bundles are a separate product line; their prices differed between the page and the price service, so we do not list them.

How LifeLock works

LifeLock sells three tiers. Core monitors your credit at two bureaus, shows a one-bureau report and score each month, alerts on activity in 2 bank or card accounts, and includes a credit and payday loan lock, dark web monitoring and data broker removal that rescans every 90 days. Advanced moves to three-bureau monitoring, adds a three-bureau report and score once a year, alerts on 5 accounts and adds scam reimbursement. Total updates the one-bureau score daily and adds unlimited account alerts, 401(k) and investment alerts, bank and phone takeover alerts and home title monitoring. The page does not state the score model. Credit features need you to pass identity verification with Equifax first; Gen's Norton 360 with LifeLock disclosure says you get no credit features from any bureau if that fails. The standalone plans do not include Norton antivirus or VPN.

The reimbursement amounts are policy limits per adult. On Core, $1.05M breaks down as $1M for lawyers and experts, $25,000 for stolen funds and $25,000 for personal expenses; Advanced raises the last two to $100,000 each, and Total to $1M each. For stolen identity events from September 1, 2026, United Specialty Insurance Company is the insurer outside New York and Washington; New York residents get a separate certificate. Before paying, know what you can do free: a credit freeze at each bureau costs nothing and lasts until you lift it, a fraud alert is free for a year (seven years for identity theft victims with a report), and AnnualCreditReport.com gives free weekly reports from all three bureaus. Our guide on whether identity theft protection is worth it compares the two routes.

A hypothetical year on Core at October 19, 2026 prices: paying monthly costs $12.49 x 12 = $149.88, while the yearly plan is $124.99, a $24.89 saving. For a couple, one Core plan for 2 adults at $224.99 costs $24.99 less than two single Core plans ($124.99 x 2 = $249.98). Moving one adult from Core to Total yearly adds $349.99 - $124.99 = $225 a year for third-bureau monitoring, daily score updates and the higher reimbursement limits.

Pros

  • Reimbursement limits up to $3M per adult on Total, including up to $1M for stolen funds
  • Scam reimbursement of $5,000 or $10,000 a year on Advanced and Total
  • No first-year price jump on Core, Advanced and Total as of October 19, 2026
  • Refund available within 60 days of each annual renewal
  • Data broker removal on every tier

Cons

  • Core monitors two bureaus, and the page does not say which two
  • Score model is not stated
  • Renewals can be charged up to 35 days before the term ends
  • Trial needs a card and converts to paid unless cancelled
  • No antivirus or VPN in the standalone plans

Who LifeLock fits, and who should skip it

A good fit if

  • You want reimbursement limits above $1M per adult and scam reimbursement, on Advanced or Total.
  • You want home title, 401(k) and phone takeover alerts in one plan (Total).
  • You want a refund window that also applies after each annual renewal.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want three-bureau monitoring plus antivirus and VPN on the entry plan: Aura includes both.
  • You want three-bureau reports every month for less than Total: IdentityIQ Secure Max costs $321.21 a year.
  • You only want to follow your score: CreditWise shows a free FICO Score 8.

Limitations to know

  • If Equifax cannot verify your identity, Gen's disclosure says you will not receive credit features from any bureau. [8]
  • The lock is a LifeLock feature that turns off if you downgrade or cancel. A credit freeze placed with each bureau is free to place and lift and lasts until you lift it. [14]
  • The three-bureau report and score on Advanced and Total come once a year. Free weekly reports from all three bureaus are available at AnnualCreditReport.com. [15]
  • Scam reimbursement carries a $100 deductible per occurrence and is not available to New York residents. [6]
  • Plans require an automatically renewing subscription; you cancel online or through Member Services (1-800-416-0599). [1]

LifeLock compared with alternatives

ServiceFree tierPriceScore shownID-theft insurance
LifeLockNo free tier (30-day trial, card required)Core $12.49/mo or $124.99/yr; Advanced $19.99 or $199.99; Total $34.99 or $349.99One-bureau score (model not stated)$1.05M, $1.2M or $3M per adult by tier (United Specialty Insurance Co.)
AuraNo free tier (14-day trial)$12/mo billed yearly or $15 monthly; Couple $22/$29; Family $32/$50VantageScore (Equifax data, monthly)$1M individual, $2M couple, $5M family (American Bankers Insurance Co. of Florida)
Identity GuardNo free tierValue $8.99/mo, Total $19.99, Ultra $29.99 (individual); first-year discountsEquifax-based score, monthly (model not stated)$1M (American Bankers Insurance Co. of Florida)
IdentityIQNo free tierSecure Basic $8.49/mo ($86.61/yr) to Secure Max $31.49/mo ($321.21/yr)Not stated$1M stolen funds reimbursement ("underwritten by AIG")
ExperianFree FICO Score 8 and Experian report, no card neededCore $4.99/mo ($49.99/yr), Plus $14.99/mo ($149/yr), Premium $24.99/mo ($249.99/yr)FICO Score 8 (Experian data)$100K (Core), $500K (Plus), $1M (Premium)
  • Pick Aura if you want three-bureau monitoring on every plan plus antivirus and a VPN.
  • Pick Identity Guard if you want a first-year discount and family plans for 5 adults.
  • Pick IdentityIQ if you want monthly three-bureau reports for less.
  • Pick Experian if you want a free FICO Score 8 and a cheap paid tier from a bureau itself.

Security and privacy

  • Gen says it does not sell customer personal information, but it shares identifiers for cross-context advertising; US residents can opt out. [9]
  • In January 2023 Gen Digital notified customers of a credential-stuffing attack on Norton accounts, detected December 12, 2022, that may have exposed names, phone numbers, addresses and Norton Password Manager data. Gen said its own systems were not compromised. [10]
  • On March 9, 2010 LifeLock agreed to pay $11 million to the FTC and $1 million to 35 states ($12 million in total) over identity theft prevention and data security claims. [11]
  • On December 17, 2015 LifeLock agreed to pay $100 million to settle FTC charges that it violated the 2010 order on information security and advertising. [12]
  • On February 22, 2024 the FTC ordered sister brand Avast, a Gen Digital subsidiary, to pay $16.5 million and banned it from selling browsing data for advertising. [13]

Recent changes

DateWhat changed
Oct 19, 2026Norton's price service returned the same first-year and renewal price for every Core, Advanced and Total plan ("0% OFF"). [2]
Oct 1, 2026New HSB Specialty scam reimbursement coverage period began (events on or after October 1, 2026). [7]
Sep 1, 2026New identity theft coverage period with United Specialty Insurance Company began (events on or after September 1, 2026). [7]
Jan 2023Gen Digital sent notices of a credential-stuffing attack on Norton accounts; the Vermont filing is dated January 9, 2023. [10]

LifeLock FAQ

Is LifeLock free?

No. LifeLock has no free plan. There is a 30-day free trial that needs a payment method and charges you at the end unless you cancel, and a free check of whether your personal data shows up where it should not.

How much does LifeLock cost?

For one adult, Core is $124.99 a year or $12.49 a month, Advanced $199.99 or $19.99, and Total $349.99 or $34.99. Plans for two adults run $224.99 to $629.99 a year. On October 19, 2026 the first-year price equalled the renewal price on all of these.

Does LifeLock monitor all three credit bureaus?

Only on Advanced and Total. Core monitors two bureaus, and LifeLock's plan page does not say which two. Every tier shows a one-bureau report and score, and the page does not name the score model.

LifeLock vs Aura?

<a href="/credit-monitoring/aura/">Aura</a> monitors all three bureaus on every main plan and bundles antivirus, a VPN and a password manager. LifeLock's standalone plans have no device security, but Total offers higher reimbursement limits (up to $3M per adult) and both upper tiers add scam reimbursement.

Is LifeLock worth it?

It can be if you want restoration help and reimbursement limits on hand. The core protection against new accounts in your name, a credit freeze at each bureau, is free and you can set it up yourself. See <a href="/how-monitor-credit-report-errors-fraud/">how to monitor your credit reports for errors and fraud</a>.

How we researched this review

We did not get paid or receive a free account for this page. We read LifeLock's own pricing page, help center, security and privacy pages and app-store listing on October 19, 2026, quoted each fact from those pages, and link every one below. We did not run a long-term hands-on test, so we do not score the app; where a point rests on what the company says rather than something we can check, we attribute it to LifeLock. Cost figures are our own arithmetic. We re-check prices and plans about once a month and log changes in the table above.

Sources

  1. LifeLock by Norton, Plans and pricing, checked October 19, 2026.
  2. Norton, price service response for LifeLock Total (US price list), checked October 19, 2026.
  3. LifeLock, Free 30-day trial, checked October 19, 2026.
  4. LifeLock, Refund policy, checked October 19, 2026.
  5. United Specialty Insurance Company, identity theft Evidence of Coverage (September 2026), checked October 19, 2026.
  6. HSB Specialty Insurance Company, scam reimbursement coverage (October 1, 2026), checked October 19, 2026.
  7. Norton, Legal documents, checked October 19, 2026.
  8. Norton 360 with LifeLock Select (credit feature disclosures), checked October 19, 2026.
  9. Gen Digital, Do not sell or share my personal information, checked October 19, 2026.
  10. Vermont Attorney General, NortonLifeLock (Gen Digital) data breach notice to consumers (January 9, 2023), checked October 19, 2026.
  11. FTC, LifeLock will pay $12 million to settle charges by the FTC and 35 states (March 9, 2010), checked October 19, 2026.
  12. FTC, LifeLock to pay $100 million to consumers to settle FTC charges it violated 2010 order (December 17, 2015), checked October 19, 2026.
  13. FTC, FTC order will ban Avast from selling browsing data for advertising purposes (February 22, 2024), checked October 19, 2026.
  14. FTC, Credit freezes and fraud alerts, checked October 19, 2026.
  15. FTC, Free credit reports, checked October 19, 2026.

Head-to-head comparisons

This review is general information, not financial or legal advice. A credit freeze at each bureau and weekly reports from AnnualCreditReport.com are free under federal rules; a paid service adds alerts, insurance and help, not protection you cannot get yourself.